GTI Chapter 83

Another release, making this chapter 7 of the week, I think.

I saw that some translators had been complaining about sites skimming of the content of their translation.

It’s not like much could be done about them since site scrappers had existed even before this. But, here’s what I did to make things difficult for them.

I used the plugin WP Illegal Content Copy Notice Append or at least I think it was this one. It was supposed to attached a message if you right click and copy any content from the site. It added the message via JavaScript but I found it to be utterly useless. If someone was trying to highlight certain portion of the text to put into comment etc, the message would get added as well but it could be easily removed. However, it did have a useful function of removing all the formatting from the content copied.

So, I just used this to piss off the reader of those sites if it used script to pull. How would you like to read a whole chunk of text in just 1 paragraph? Pretty annoying, right.

So, if the reader is doing any translation, do consider it. It won’t stop those sites but it would surely be very annoying for them.

Chapter 083